Is BJJ Consolidating? Read the Filings, Not the Press Releases

Martial Arts Professional editorial. Figures below are attributed to their source and labelled as either audited filings or company press releases, because on this story the difference is everything.
The short answer
Yes, outside capital is entering the martial arts school sector. No, the companies making the most noise about it are not the ones to watch.
The largest verified transaction in this space is a private-equity investment in a school-management software business most owners have never read a headline about. The most-publicised story of the past fortnight comes from a nano-cap listed company with roughly A$0.63 million of half-year revenue and an A$8.34 million operating loss. Both facts matter to an independent school owner, and they point in different directions.
What actually happened in New York
UFC GYM Jiu-Jitsu // Jiu Livre opened at 383 Fifth Avenue, Manhattan, on 8 August 2026. UFC GYM announced it on 31 July. It is the first standalone UFC GYM Jiu-Jitsu studio anywhere — BJJ as its own box, rather than a programme inside a full-service gym.
The structure is the interesting part, and it is not a ground-up franchise. It is a conversion partnership: Jiu Livre was an existing New York academy that keeps its own name and membership while adopting UFC GYM curriculum, belt progression and membership protocols. CEO Adam Sedlack called it “an important step in how we expand the brand.”
UFC GYM does sell a jiu-jitsu franchise unit, quoted in the trade press at roughly $149,000 to $486,000 of total investment. Whether this particular location used that vehicle or is corporate-operated is not stated in any release we could find, and we have asked.
Note what the conversion model implies for you. If the brand’s route into BJJ is acquiring the identity of established independent academies rather than opening next door to them, the competitive threat to a good local school is not a new gym on the corner. It is an offer to your best competitor.
The software story, and why the numbers need reading twice
On 15 September, MMA.INC — legally Mixed Martial Arts Group Limited, trading as MMA on NYSE American — announced that its BJJLink platform had been deployed at the UFC GYM jiu-jitsu studio.
Three things about that announcement deserve a school owner’s attention, because they are a useful lesson in reading vendor claims generally.
First, it is a vendor-only statement. UFC GYM’s own July release naming the studio does not name any technology vendor at all, and UFC GYM is not quoted in the September release. The only quote is from MMA.INC’s chief executive and is addressed to shareholders: “The important point for shareholders is that this partnership is now operating in live studio.” A commercial relationship does exist — Sedlack has been quoted in earlier MMA.INC releases praising the platform — but the September announcement is an investor communication, not a joint one.
Second, this partnership has been announced repeatedly. By our count, substantially the same UFC GYM/BJJLink agreement has been announced at least five times since July 2025, twice under headlines beginning “Update” and “Updated”, then “Rolls Out”, then “Confirms” — recycling an identical quote. The July 2025 releases said BJJLink would power “all new UFC GYM BJJ franchise studios” and referenced 45 new gyms in 2025. UFC GYM’s own July 2026 release calls the Manhattan site the first standalone studio, and MMA.INC now says the second is expected in Florida in January 2027. The 2025 rollout did not happen at the scale announced.
Third, and most important: the operating metrics are promotional, not audited. MMA.INC is an Australian company and a foreign private issuer. It files Form 20-F annually and Form 6-K currently — there are no 8-Ks or 10-Qs, whatever you may read elsewhere. The 6-Ks carrying these announcements contain nothing but the press release as an exhibit. Furnishing a press release to the SEC confers no auditor review and no verification.
With that established, here is what the widely repeated figures actually say:
| As commonly reported | What the source says |
|---|---|
| “108,000+ students” | 107,694 registered student profiles. Monthly active users: 27,651. |
| “$21 million in payments processed” | A $21m annualised run rate, extrapolated from a single month’s volume (May 2026). Not an amount processed. |
| “Paying academies up 260% since January 2025” | An 18-month figure, off a base of 389 paying academies. |
| “$4 million raised” | Confirmed. Completed 20 August 2026 at $1.00 per share — roughly a 160% premium to the prior close. |
Set those against the audited half-year to 31 December 2025: revenue of A$0.63 million against an operating loss of A$8.34 million, with auditors having previously raised substantial doubt about going-concern status. Market capitalisation was around $10.5 million in August 2026, with the shares down roughly 79% from their IPO valuation.
The trap for anyone covering this sector: payment volume flowing across a platform is not the platform’s revenue. The company earns a fee on it. A $21 million run rate and A$0.63 million of half-year revenue are not in conflict — they are measuring completely different things, and conflating them is the most common error made about this company.
On 17 September, MMA.INC announced it had engaged Generation IACP, a Toronto investment firm, to monitor trading in its shares for abnormal activity including aggressive and short selling. The company states plainly that it has not concluded that any unlawful trading has occurred, and no regulator has opened a proceeding. We note the announcement and will revisit it in six months; in comparable microcap cases, follow-through is rare.
Where the real money went
If you want evidence of institutional capital entering the martial arts school business, it is here and almost nobody covered it.
In September 2025, Bregal Sagemount made a strategic growth investment in Spark Membership, the Tampa-based school management platform founded in 2017 by Grandmaster Cheong Park and Ron Sell. Spark has 2,000+ customers globally and processes more than $750 million annually, combining membership software, embedded payments and managed marketing. Deal size was not disclosed.
Hold that next to the figures above. Spark processes roughly 35 times the payment volume that BJJLink claims as an annualised run rate, across five times as many paying customers — and it did it quietly, as a private company, with a martial arts grandmaster as co-founder.
That is what consolidation in this sector actually looks like right now: not franchise roll-ups of schools, but private equity buying the payment rails and the operating system those schools run on. Whoever owns your billing owns your churn data, your pricing levers and your switching costs.
And the cautionary tale
Before anyone concludes that scale capital is automatically good for school owners, look at Premier Martial Arts.
PMA was acquired by Unleashed Brands in January 2022, adding around 560 units. It was not a 2025 or 2026 deal, whatever is currently circulating. What happened since is the story: 54 PMA franchisees sued Unleashed Brands alleging RICO violations and seeking $75 million, the trade press reported turmoil across four of five recently acquired concepts, and local outlets across several states documented abrupt studio closures with parents seeking refunds.
Set that against the franchise economics we reported earlier this month: a Premier Martial Arts unit averaging roughly $305,000 in gross sales returns the owner-operator something in the region of $37,000 to $46,000, on a total investment of $108,000 to $318,000 and a 7% royalty.
What a school owner should take from this
Watch your software vendor’s balance sheet, not its press releases. If your billing, your member records and your payment processing sit with a company losing eight dollars for every one it earns, that is an operational risk to you, not just to its shareholders. Ask any vendor for audited financials and a data-portability guarantee before you migrate.
Understand what a conversion offer really is. If a national brand approaches you, what is being bought is your membership base, your location and your local reputation. Price it accordingly, and know what your school is actually worth before somebody tells you.
Stop reading payment volume as size. Platforms quote the money that flows through them because it is the biggest number available. It tells you almost nothing about whether they will exist in three years.
And do not confuse noise with momentum. One genuinely significant thing happened in this sector in the last twelve months, and it was a private equity firm quietly buying into the plumbing. Everything else was a press release.
Sources, and what we could not confirm
- UFC GYM: company release via Franchising.com, 31 July 2026; Athletech News and Club Solutions Magazine, July 2026; Franchise Times, March 2026, on franchise investment ranges. We could not confirm whether the Manhattan studio is corporate-operated or franchised, and have asked UFC GYM.
- MMA.INC: GlobeNewswire releases of 15 and 17 September 2026, furnished to the SEC as Form 6-K (CIK 0001981519); earlier releases of 10 and 11 July, 15 August and 10 September 2025; Form 20-F FY2025; half-year results to 31 December 2025. Market data via StockAnalysis.com, August 2026. We could not determine what the “Update” and “Updated” releases of July and August 2025 corrected — neither carries a correction notice — and we have asked the company. We have not obtained current short-interest data for MMA, which would be material to assessing the surveillance engagement.
- Spark Membership: Bregal Sagemount, BusinessWire and adviser announcements, 2 September 2025. Deal value undisclosed. The $750m processing and 2,000-customer figures are the company’s own.
- Premier Martial Arts / Unleashed Brands: BusinessWire, 4 January 2022, on the acquisition; Franchise Times and the Dallas Morning News, January 2023, on the franchisee litigation; local broadcast reporting on closures. Franchise revenue and earnings figures are from the Premier Martial Arts Franchise Disclosure Document for fiscal 2021, 59 studios — now five fiscal years old. We could not obtain a current unit count.
- We found no evidence of any 2025–26 transaction, funding round or acquisition involving Gracie Barra, 10th Planet, Tiger Schulmann’s, Gymdesk, Kicksite or Martialytics, despite such claims circulating. Zen Planner’s acquisition by Daxko was 2017, not recent.
Corrections are welcome and will be published with attribution. If you have been approached about a conversion or acquisition of your school, we would like to hear what was offered — on the record or not.



