Safeguarding: The Federal Law Most Martial Arts Schools Think Covers Them, and Doesn’t

Martial Arts Professional Directory · Safeguarding

The most widely held belief about child protection in this industry is that the federal SafeSport Act covers martial arts schools. For a privately owned commercial school with no national governing body affiliation, it does not. That is not a relief and it is not a loophole. It means no federal standard is being set for you, no outside body will investigate a complaint about your instructor, and the duty that does bind you comes from somewhere else entirely.

Compiled 9 September 2026 from the statute itself, from regulators’ and providers’ own published pages · Reporting on what the law and the providers publish · Not legal advice · No provider paid for inclusion

What the statute actually says

The law people mean when they say “the SafeSport Act” is Public Law 115-126, the Protecting Young Victims from Sexual Abuse and Safe Sport Authorization Act of 2017, as amended in 2020. It sits in two places in the United States Code: the reporting duty at 34 U.S.C. § 20341, and the duties placed on organisations at 36 U.S.C. §§ 220530 and 220541. There is no federal statute called the “Youth Safe Sports Act”; that phrase circulates in trade content and will not lead an owner to the operative law.

The Act creates two separate reporting duties, and neither one reaches an ordinary commercial dojo.

The first, at § 20341(a)(1), applies to a list of professionals — doctors, teachers, social workers, child care workers, law enforcement — and only while they are working “on Federal land or in a federally operated (or contracted) facility.” Martial arts instructor is not on the list, and a strip-mall dojo is not federal land.

The second, at § 20341(a)(2), applies to a “covered individual,” who must report suspected child abuse within 24 hours. Everything turns on that definition, at § 20341(c)(9): a covered individual is an adult who “is authorized, by a national governing body, a member of a national governing body, or an amateur sports organization that participates in interstate or international amateur athletic competition, to interact with a minor or amateur athlete.” And “amateur sports organization” is defined at 36 U.S.C. § 220501(b) as “a not-for-profit corporation, association, or other group organized in the United States that sponsors or arranges an amateur athletic competition.”

Three gates, and a commercial school fails all three

1. Not-for-profit. A for-profit school is not an “amateur sports organization” as the statute defines the term. Most martial arts schools in the United States are for-profit businesses.

2. Interstate or international competition. Even a non-profit school must additionally participate in interstate or international amateur athletic competition before the definition engages.

3. Authorised by a governing body. The instructor must have been authorised by an NGB, an NGB member, or such an organisation. A school authorising its own staff does not satisfy this. You cannot bring yourself into the definition by writing your own certificate.

Read this the right way round
None of this makes abuse in a commercial school lawful, and none of it removes a school’s exposure. What it removes is the comforting assumption that somebody federal is already handling it. No NGB is auditing your screening. No federal body will take a complaint about your instructor. The standard in your school is whatever you set, and the liability is entirely yours.

How a martial arts school does come into scope

There are two routes in, and both are common enough that many owners are covered without having thought about it.

An individual instructor holding an NGB credential

An instructor at a for-profit school who holds a coach certification or membership from USA Judo, USA Taekwondo, USA Karate, USA Wrestling or USA Boxing is authorised by a national governing body, and is therefore a covered individual under § 20341(c)(9)(A) — regardless of who employs him. The definition’s own limits matter: the authorisation runs to interaction at an amateur sports organisation facility or at a sanctioned event. Note what this means for the two fastest-growing segments: Brazilian jiu-jitsu and MMA have no USOPC-recognised national governing body, so this route generally does not exist for a pure BJJ academy or MMA gym. It commonly does exist for judo, taekwondo, karate, wrestling and boxing programmes.

Registering the school as an affiliated club

Registering your school with a national governing body is usually treated as a competition decision. It is also a legal-scope decision. A registered club becomes a Local Affiliated Organization under the U.S. Center for SafeSport’s Code, which defines an LAO as “a regional, state or local club or organization that is directly affiliated with an NGB.” Its participants come inside the Code by that act, with the training and screening obligations that follow. That is a legitimate and often sensible choice — but it should be made knowingly, and the fees are set out in this directory’s associations and rank organisations entry.

An organisation that does fall inside 36 U.S.C. § 220530 carries four duties, and they are a serviceable template even for a school that is outside them: comply with the reporting requirement; “establish reasonable procedures to limit one-on-one interactions… without being in an observable and interruptible distance from another adult”; offer and provide consistent abuse prevention and reporting training to adults in regular contact with minors; and prohibit retaliation against anyone who makes a report.

What the U.S. Center for SafeSport can and cannot do for you

Two beliefs about the Center are common and both are wrong, in opposite directions.

It cannot investigate your instructor — unless he is in the Movement

The Center’s own jurisdiction document is explicit: “For us to investigate, the Respondent… must be a member or Participant of one of the National Governing Bodies (NGBs) within the Movement.” Its authority runs to people, not to gyms. Its published list of what it does not cover includes non-Movement leagues and associations by name. A report about an instructor at an unaffiliated commercial school will be redirected, not investigated.

But its training is open to you, and it is cheap

The Center’s FAQ answers this plainly: “Yes! Individuals and organizations outside of NGB sports can also take SafeSport courses.” NGB members train free; everyone else pays. The one published individual price is $20 per person for the 90-minute SafeSport Trained Core course. Organisational and bulk pricing is quoted rather than published.

One caution that matters: taking the course confers no status. It does not place you or your school under the Center’s jurisdiction, and it does not put you under its protection. It is training, and training is worth having on its own terms.

Where your reporting duty actually comes from

For most commercial school owners the operative law is not federal at all. Mandated reporter status is set state by state, and the categories vary enormously.

The Child Welfare Information Gateway’s state statute series records that “in approximately 17 States and Puerto Rico, any person who suspects child abuse or neglect is required to report” — naming Indiana, New Jersey, North Carolina and Wyoming as states that require all persons to report without designating professions at all. Elsewhere the statute names categories, and whether “child care provider” or “youth activity personnel” captures a martial arts instructor is a question of that state’s wording.

The one search every owner should run
Find your own state’s rule rather than relying on a national summary, including this one. The Child Welfare Information Gateway maintains a state statutes search at childwelfare.gov — topics, then laws and policies, then state. The figures above are current to a published revision and several states have amended their reporter statutes since. Your state’s text is the only version that binds you.

Background screening: what it costs and what each tier actually searches

Three providers publish prices. The differences between the tiers are not marketing tiers — they are the difference between searching a database and searching a courthouse.

Read from each provider’s own published pricing pages on 9 September 2026. All three publish a one-time set-up fee requirement without publishing its amount. Sterling Volunteers additionally states that its price “excludes state, county, and motor vehicle repository fees”, so the published figure is a floor.
Provider and plan Published price What it searches Turnaround
NCSI · Essentials $16 / check Two local jurisdictional (county) searches, two multi-jurisdictional database searches, two sex offender registry searches Not published
NCSI · Advanced $23 / check Five-year all-county criminal search, two multi-jurisdictional database searches, two sex offender registry searches Not published
NCSI · Complete $35 / check Seven-year county criminal search, seven-year federal district search, two multi-jurisdictional database searches, two sex offender registry searches Not published
Sterling Volunteers · Advanced $19 each SSN trace, nationwide criminal history search, DOJ sex offender search, terrorist watch list, current county or state of residence search, motor vehicle report Most searches returned in 24 to 72 hours
Sterling Volunteers · Complete $39 each All of Advanced, plus locator, seven-year address criminal search and seven-year alias or maiden-name criminal search Most searches returned in 24 to 72 hours
Checkr · Basic $29.99 / report SSN trace, sex offender registry, global watchlist, national criminal search Not published
Checkr · Essential $59.99 / report Identity verification, SSN trace, sex offender registry, global watchlist, national criminal search, unlimited county criminal search Not published
Checkr · Complete $94.99 / report All of Essential, plus unlimited state criminal search and federal criminal search Not published

The distinction that decides whether a check is worth buying

A multi-jurisdictional database search queries an aggregated commercial index. A county criminal search asks the actual courthouse. Databases are fast, cheap and incomplete: coverage varies by county, reporting lags, and some jurisdictions do not feed them at all. The cheapest tier at every provider on this page leans on the database. NCSI’s $23 and $35 tiers, Sterling’s $39 and Checkr’s $59.99 and $94.99 add real county-level searching.

All three publish national sex offender registry coverage at every tier, which is the floor rather than the standard. For an adult with unsupervised access to your students, the difference between a $16 check and a $35 check is roughly the price of one month of one student’s tuition.

Note also that eligibility is not settled for a for-profit school. Sterling Volunteers positions itself for “nonprofits and volunteer programs” and does not state anywhere whether a commercial business qualifies; NCSI lists corporate employment among its client types without addressing for-profit gyms directly. Checkr is a general employment screener with no sector restriction. Ask before you build a process on one.

Training programmes and what they publish

Read from each provider’s own published pages on 9 September 2026. Availability to a private commercial martial arts school is stated where the provider addresses it and marked unclear where it does not.
Programme Published price Length and format Open to a commercial school
Darkness to Light
Stewards of Children
$16 2 hours 30 minutes. Available asynchronously online, in person, or virtually facilitator-led. CEUs available Yes — sold to any adult, no membership or sector gate
U.S. Center for SafeSport
SafeSport Trained Core
$20 per person; free to NGB members 90 minutes online. Refresher courses run 30 minutes each; a 15-minute volunteer course and free courses for parents, children and teens are also published Yes — the Center states courses are open to individuals and organisations outside NGB sport. Bulk pricing is quoted, not published
Praesidium None published Not published. Offers online and custom training, a Guardian certification, risk assessment, policy analysis, screening and an accreditation programme Unclear — no eligible-sector list is published. States more than 30 years in abuse prevention
The arithmetic nobody puts in front of school owners
Training every adult with student access to the Darkness to Light standard costs $16 a head. A county-level background check costs $23 to $39. For a school with eight instructors and assistants, screening and training the entire staff to a defensible standard is roughly $300 to $450 a year — less than two months of one student’s tuition, and less than the annual premium difference between the two abuse-cover options below.

The insurance election most owners get wrong

Abuse and molestation cover is almost never automatic in this class. It is an election, and on at least one published programme there are two of them that sound similar and are not remotely equivalent.

Sadler’s published martial arts programme document sets out both. Option 1 provides $1,000,000 for each perpetrator with a $1,000,000 aggregate — stated to be “part of, and not in addition to, the General Aggregate Limit” — at $2.31 per martial arts student, $2.05 per additional-operations participant, and $2.53 per birthday party or event with a $150 minimum. Option 2 provides $100,000 each claim and $100,000 aggregate for “reimbursement of defense costs only,” at a flat $100.

What $100 actually buys

Option 2 is not abuse liability cover. It reimburses defence costs to $100,000 and provides no indemnity. A school that elects it because it is the cheap one has bought a lawyer, not a settlement.

At $2.31 a student, Option 1 on a school of 150 students is about $347 a year for a million dollars of cover. The difference between the two elections is roughly $250 a year, and it is the difference between defence costs and the claim itself.

Check which one is on your policy before you need to know. And note the connection running back through this page: the same programme document conditions cover on underwriting answers about background checks, written prevention and reporting procedures, one-on-one visibility and physical-contact policies. The screening and training above are not only good practice. They are what the cover is priced on.

Figures are from one insurer’s published programme document and are not a market rate. The wider category, including which providers publish anything at all, is covered in this directory’s insurance entry.

The martial-arts-specific gap

Everything above is borrowed. SafeSport was written for Olympic sport. Darkness to Light was written for any youth-serving organisation. None of it knows what a grappling class is, why a changing room in a converted retail unit is a design problem, or what it means that an instructor controls rank.

Three efforts exist to close that gap, and it is worth being precise about the state of each.

NAPMA Safe Training Environment — United States, in development

A martial-arts-specific operating and verification standard covering abuse, grooming, bullying, hazing, harassment, retaliation and boundary violations. Three components are described: a one-page school owner checklist, a draft standard of 60 auditable requirements with codes of conduct and reporting protocols, and a comparative review of existing programmes internationally. NAPMA states it is seeking input from sports-law counsel, safeguarding experts, insurers and technical martial arts reviewers.

NAPMA publishes the materials as “a substantive development draft — not a finished certification product, legal opinion, insurance representation, or guarantee of safety.” That status is stated here because this magazine is published by NAPMA and the standard is not yet what an owner could be certified against. No price is published. Its school owner checklist is free to read, and it is the only place in this research where martial-arts-technical safeguarding content appears in a US source — its items on grappling, stretching, spotting, changing areas and the misuse of rank, promotion and team selection as leverage have no equivalent in the general programmes.

Academy Safe — United States, a registry

A registered 501(c)(3) in Coral Springs, Florida, describing itself as a martial arts safety registry that helps parents find safer schools and academies demonstrate verified safety standards. It offers a searchable registry, an academy registration route and educational resources. No certification, training programme or policy templates are described, no pricing is published, and the criteria behind the phrase “verified safety standards” are not published on its site. Leadership is not named.

Safeguarding Code in Martial Arts — United Kingdom, operating

The most developed martial-arts-specific published standard located anywhere. Sport England-associated, it accredits three applicant types — policy organisations, clubs, and individual instructors and sole traders — against published criteria including a comprehensive safeguarding policy updated within three years, clear reporting procedures, a designated welfare officer, codes of conduct for children, coaches and parents, basic safeguarding training available for all roles, criminal record checks for applicable roles, and risk assessments for all activities and events. No fee is published.

It is not portable to the United States, because its screening requirement is built on the UK’s Disclosure and Barring Service. It is worth reading anyway, as a picture of what a martial-arts-specific standard looks like when one actually exists.

The finding, stated plainly

There is no United States martial-arts-specific accredited safeguarding certification with published standards and a published cost. That is not a gap in this research. It is a gap in the industry, and it is the reason the question “what standard does your school meet?” currently has no answer a parent can check.

Frequently asked, and the primary source answer

Does the SafeSport Act apply to my martial arts school?

If your school is a for-profit business with no national governing body affiliation, no. The statute’s own definitions require a not-for-profit organisation that sponsors or arranges amateur athletic competition and participates in interstate or international competition, with the instructor authorised by a governing body. A commercial school fails all three. If any of your instructors hold an NGB coach credential, or if you register your school as an affiliated club, that changes.

34 U.S.C. § 20341(c)(9); 36 U.S.C. § 220501(b)

Am I a mandated reporter?

That is decided by your state, not by federal law. In approximately 17 states and Puerto Rico any person who suspects abuse must report, which includes every martial arts instructor in those states. Elsewhere it depends on whether your state’s designated categories capture a martial arts instructor. Look up your own state’s statute rather than relying on any national summary.

Can the U.S. Center for SafeSport investigate a complaint about my instructor?

Only if that instructor is a member or participant of a national governing body within the Olympic and Paralympic Movement. The Center’s jurisdiction is over people in the Movement, not over gyms. A complaint about an unaffiliated instructor will be redirected rather than investigated.

Can I take SafeSport training if I am not affiliated with a governing body?

Yes. The Center states that individuals and organisations outside NGB sport can take its courses. The 90-minute SafeSport Trained Core course is published at $20 per person; it is free to NGB members. Taking it confers no status and does not bring you under the Center’s jurisdiction or protection.

Does my general liability policy cover abuse claims?

Generally not automatically. On published martial arts programmes abuse and molestation cover is an election, and some programmes offer a cheap option that reimburses defence costs only and provides no indemnity. Check which election is on your policy and at what limit.

Methodology

Statutory text was read directly from the United States Code at uscode.house.gov and from Public Law 115-126 at govinfo.gov on 9 September 2026, not from summaries. Jurisdiction and training facts were read from the U.S. Center for SafeSport’s own pages and from the 2026 SafeSport Code. Screening and training prices were read from each provider’s own published pricing pages. Insurance figures were read from one insurer’s own published martial arts programme document.

Mandated-reporter figures are from the Child Welfare Information Gateway’s published state statutes series and are current to its stated revision; no 50-state verification was attempted, and the state-level lookup is given instead. Where a provider publishes no price, or does not state whether a for-profit business is eligible, that is recorded rather than filled in.

Two sites refused automated access and nothing was substituted for them: congress.gov and safesporttrained.org. The statutory text and the $20 course price were obtained from other primary sources instead.

Corrections are published under our editorial policy, with the date and the change noted. This entry will be revised as the martial-arts-specific standards described above develop.

This is reporting on what the law and these providers publish. It is not legal advice. Your obligations depend on your state, your affiliations, your insurance and your facts, and they should be confirmed with a lawyer licensed in your state. Nothing here should be read as a defence to any claim, and nothing here reduces a school’s duty to protect the children in it.

Disclosure

One relationship on this page has to be named. Martial Arts Professional is published by NAPMA, the National Association of Professional Martial Artists, and NAPMA’s own Safe Training Environment work is covered in this entry. It is described exactly as NAPMA itself publishes it — as a development draft rather than a finished certification — and it is placed alongside the other efforts in the field rather than above them. Readers should weigh the connection accordingly.

Beyond that, Martial Arts Professional has no advertising, affiliate or referral relationship with any provider listed on this page and receives no commission on anything a reader buys. No fee was accepted for inclusion or for position. NAPMA’s CEO and Chairman, Grand Master Stephen Oliver, also founded Martial Arts Wealth Mastery, a coaching company for school owners; it is not a safeguarding provider and is not listed here.

Related
The Martial Arts Professional Directory · Insurance and abuse cover · Associations and rank organisations · NAPMA Safe Training Environment

Back to top button